International Communication

The International Repatriation Blog is meant to connect American Indian tribes with International museum professionals. Throughout my trip from February 13 – April 28 of this year, I will be meeting museum professionals around Europe. When I discover a collection associated with a tribe, I will post this information, along with a contact name for someone at the museum.

One of the largest problems associated with the issue of international repatriation is that American Indian tribes are unaware of the full extent of collections abroad. This minor study will help address this problem on a very small level. Whereas these efforts are meant to open up dialogue among tribes and museum professionals about repatriation internationally, they may also be used for tribes interested in viewing and studying collections abroad. For instance, individuals within my own tribe at Cherokee Nation are interested in studying some of our old beadwork patterns.

Information at this site will remain culturally sensitive.

4 thoughts on “International Communication”

  1. My studies will begin at the University of Aberdeen in Aberdeen, Scotland. Then, I’ll spend three weeks in Glasgow, Scotland at the Kelvingrove Museum. Following this, I will be traveling to France, Switzerland, Austria, Germany and Belgium.

    Like

  2. I am the NAGPRA Coordinator/Anthropologist I for the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation in northeastern Oregon. This is a confederated of the Cayuse, Umatilla and Walla Walla tribes. We would be interested in anything that you find with these Tribal proveniences, as well as: “Oregon”, “Washington”, “Plateau”, “Columbia River”, “John Day”, and anything of that nature. We are currently working with a museum in New Zealand, with the Warm Springs and Yakama Tribes about joint repatriation of two individuals. Please notify me if you find anything from our area.

    Like

  3. Diana, I am going to add you to the international repatriation listserv that I have begun. If anyone else is interested in joining, please let me know and I will add you.

    If I find human remains or culturally sensitive material related to the tribes you represent or other information, I’ll send this along to you.

    As I gather more information, I’ll compose a document for everyone here to see. It will say generally what tribes are represented in each museum (or at least, what I been able to find) and, hopefully, a direct contact person so that you will be able to have a further discussion about the museum collection.

    I think that collaboration with surrounding tribes will have to be an approach with many of these collections, as I am finding that museums have only identified general areas and, many times, specific tribal affiliations are not listed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

